Wyoming's Do-Not-Call Law
1. What is it?
Wyoming's telephone solicitation statutes prohibit most telephone solicitors from calling residential mobile or pager numbers that have been enrolled in and appear on the Direct Marketing Association's (DMA) Telephone Preference Service (TPS) for more than sixty (60) days. Certain calls, including calls made at the request of the person called, made primarily in connection with an existing debt or contract, made to a person with whom the caller has an established business relationship, and those initiated by a merchant making less than 250 unsolicited calls per year are exempt. Most charity and political fundraisers are also exempt.
2. How do I put my number on the Do-Not-Call List?
You must contact DMA and request that your number be included on the TPS list. You can complete the attached DMA Registration Form or visit DMA's website to submit your request electronically.
3. Will enrolling stop every call?
Probably not. If you enroll your number, the Do-Not-Call Law will reduce the volume of unsolicited calls you receive, but whether you enroll your number or not, you should get the information about who is calling and what the call is about at the very beginning of unsolicited phone calls. Remember that there are exceptions, so you will probably still receive solicitation calls from charities and exempt callers.
4. What if a telemarketer calls me after I've put my number on the TPS list?
The Wyoming Attorney General's Office enforces the telephone solicitation laws. If you have enrolled your number on the TPS list at least 60 days prior to receiving a call from a telemarketer, you can file a complaint with the Attorney General's Office. You can also fill out the attached form and mail in to the office the address indicated on the form.
5. What is the Federal Trade Commission Do Not Call List?
The Federal Trade Commission maintains the National Do Not Call List, which is separate from Wyoming's Do-Not-Call List. You can register for the FTC's Do Not Call List by visiting www.donotcall.gov or by calling 888-382-1222. If you receive calls from telemarketers after being enrolled on the National Do Not Call List for at least 30 days, you can file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission by visiting its website linked here.